A Four-Day Weekend Recap: Fourth of July Edition

This sure isn’t the recap that I was hoping to be able to write.  I was hoping that this would be  “Fireworks!  YES!  Grilling!  YEAH!  Swimming!  WOOHOO!”  But Nope.

11117238_10153334021627280_5049023437140352629_n

But we made the most of it and the weekend didn’t totally suck.  Since the 4th fell on a Saturday this year, I got Friday off work for observance, and I took a vacation day on Thursday, giving me a four-day weekend.  I spent all day Thursday with my BFF who was in town for a short visit.

Even though most everything was closed Friday, my husband’s employees at the shop wanted to work, so he went in too, leaving me with the day allllllllll to myself.  It was pretty glorious actually.  haha  I ran four miles (my longest run post-injury!), walked the dogs two miles (during which we got rained on–again), and then I did something I NEVER do.  I did yoga.  On purpose.  Voluntarily.  I’ve tried two yoga classes before and I hated them both, but when I said I would do whatever it takes to stay on top of this hip shit and prevent recurrence, well I meant it.  I searched You Tube for hip opening videos and I found this one.

It felt sooooo gooood.  It was only 20 minutes and it kept you moving pretty frequently, so I didn’t have time to get bored with it like I have with my two previous yoga experiences.  And it’s pretty impossible to get bored with dogs *ahem* assisting.

2015-07-03 13.18.09
Thanks, Bella. Having the sweat licked off my legs is really helpful.

Oh and I checked in with a small group of friends that were doing an ab challenge.  My progress was thwarted by a strain early in the challenge, so I didn’t come out of it like I’d hoped, but they’re a work in progress.

2015-07-03 11.24.46

Even though I was off work, I did end up having to go in for a couple of hours that afternoon.  We were still open for business and the internet at one of the offices I manage went down.  That creates a major inconvenience because the day’s transactions have to be transmitted, so I had to take all the info from that office to my other office for transmission, but I just went in my shorts and flip-flops with a wet head and snuck in the back so I didn’t have to see or deal with anyone.  It kind of pissed me off that I had to go in, but I guess it’s just part of being in management.

The country club here in town has an annual event the Friday before the Fourth of July that we always go to.  Well, when I say we “go to” them, what I mean is we go and park in a field behind the country club and watch the fireworks for free.  haha!

6-29-2012 - Thunder Over Paris 2

6-29-2012 - Thunder Over Paris 5

Saturday I got in a quick three-mile run wearing these babies.

2015-07-04 10.49.06
ordered from http://www.goneforarun.com

How freaking cool are they???  Actually they were anything BUT cool.  I thought I was gonna die.  83 degrees and 78% humidity?  Sure, tall socks sounds like a BRILLIANT plan.  But hey, the Fourth only comes around once a year.  Wear ’em while you can!

My parents came up Saturday afternoon.  The plan was to grill out, but with the jacked up forecast, we cooked…in.  We really didn’t do much else.  Just hung out.  Which is totally cool with me because we don’t get to do that much.  They’re not far away, really.  About an hour and a half.  Just far enough away to be inconvenient.  When they left, I was in my yoga pants and T-shirt by the time they were at the end of the driveway.

Sunday has been super low-key.  I slept in (8:30!!! minus one brief wakeup call/breakfast request from the cat a few minutes till 5) then spent the majority of the rest of the day on domestic duty–cleaning up the kitchen mess from Saturday night, cleaning house, doing laundry…all that wifely stuff.  I did get in a quick 30-minute spin and some strength training and took the dogs to the park for a walk .  Dang, it sure does feel good to be active and pain free again!

I hope everyone had a fantastic Fourth of July weekend and is coming away from it with all of their appendages still attached and intact!

I’m joining Tara at Running ‘n’ Reading for the Weekend Update link-up.  You should join too!

17 thoughts on “A Four-Day Weekend Recap: Fourth of July Edition

  1. The weather was such a challenge this weekend! Four miles? Awesome! Cute socks. They have lots of cute stuff on their site and it’s reasonable too. I have a 4th of July running skirt and didn’t even give it a thought! Duh. I put that video in my favorites and hope I can get to it tonight.

    Like

  2. I wore knee socks to my muggy 5k race this weekend too. I was thinking the same thing- not again until it’s cold outside!! I have never done yoga. I guess it just looks boring to me. Maybe I should give it a try though. Yay for being pain free!!

    Like

  3. Check out those ABS!!! You go girl. I enjoy your patriotic sock tribute to the holiday! Sorry your weather was not the greatest but time off from work is always a WIN!

    Like

  4. Yay for being active and pain-free! Glad you found a yoga video you like. There are also some great basic stretches for hips if you don’t want to do yoga a lot. Hip stretches and hip opening poses in yoga feel so good! Glad you had a good 4th!

    Like

  5. Oh, I hate to hear that the weather started out crappy…ugh. It sounds like you made the best of it, though, and at least there were some free fireworks – woo hoo!! Um, your abs are looking HOT, girl – way to go! It is definitely a nice feeling to be healthy and strong, especially after having had some problems. Thanks so much for sharing this yoga video that you found; I’ve saved it to my YouTube account! Thank you for linking up with the blog today and I hope your week is off to a great start!

    Like

  6. I worked Friday, a half day too. You know, when you work in healthcare, you always have to cover the holidays! And then my plans for a fun weekend kind of went awry. My father in law ended up in the hospital, so we had to see him. My husband and I did manage to go out for dinner. The next day he was discharged and we had to take him home. My son had a rugby tournament, and got knocked out of the game early on. I need a vacation! 🙂

    But on a positive note, I did get my 2 virtual and 1 live race in; got an AG and PR for the live race.

    Like

Leave a comment