Tuesday Tidbits

Much like my mind the past week, this post is all over the place.

  • I nearly wrecked a few days ago swerving to avoid a squirrel carrying what I’m 99.9% sure was a baby squirrel in her mouth.  (You’re welcome, Momma Squirrel.)  This morning a rabbit ran out in front of me in the exact same spot.  Dang suicidal wildlife…
  • The dermatologist gave me a prescription for Epiduo.  It had better be some good stuff.  One 45-gram tube of that gel retails for almost $300.  My insurance paid it down to $58 and I had a coupon to get it down to $35.
  • While I was there, I also had the doctor snip off a skin tag.  It was in a very uncomfortable location, in the crease where the inner thigh meets crotchal area.  Running has always rubbed it quite a bit, but the bike bothers it even more, so it had to come off.  It was just a quick snip and it was off.  No stitches or anything, but It was VERY tender to any friction and kept me from being able to run until Sunday.  Not that I probably would have anyway because I had other more important things to tend to.  Such as…
  • Thursday after I left the doctor’s office I had to go to a graduation cookout for my niece.
  • And her graduation was Friday night.  It was outside.  It was HOT.  It was loooooooooong.  We had to get there early just to get a place to sit, and we had to sit through the entire thing because her last name starts with a W, so naturally she was one of the last ones to walk the line.  But I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.  She’s home for the summer, and then she leaves for the Air Force in August.
  • I had ALMOST forgotten how much I hate running in the heat.  I ran 4.5 miles Sunday and 4 miles Monday and it was rough.  I’ll just have to keep reminding myself of what someone told me last summer:  Persevere through summer for a fruitful fall.
  • I’ve done my last two runs without music just trying to build mental endurance.  Screw that.  It sucked.
  • C.C.’s vet appointment went fine.  The vet doesn’t think there’s any actual arthritis but did suggest putting her on a supplement for joint health because she is old, overweight, and probably does have some joint discomfort.
  • Someone is coming to look at the vette today.  Fingers crossed he buys it.
  • We leave Tuesday to go to the mountains for our nephew’s wedding.  We will be staying until Sunday.  I am not looking forward to the trip.
  • I am, however, looking forward to going to Myrtle Beach in September.  It ain’t Cabo, but there’s sand and water, so it’ll at least allow me to get my beach fix.
  • Sometimes I feel like I’m wishing my life away.  I’m always looking forward to something, but rarely happy in the moment.
  • It just hit me at work a little while ago when I wrote the date that I was divorced seven years ago today.
  • Looks like I’ll be doing back-to-back half-marathons again in October.  I got an email yesterday about a new one in Clarksville the weekend before RnR St. Louis!  I can’t pass up a local half-marathon.
  • Blogger is pissing me the eff off today.  I’m trying to comment on posts, and it’s making me sign in EVERY TIME, and even when I sign in, it tries to post the comment as anonymous.  I give up.

11 thoughts on “Tuesday Tidbits

  1. Hope that your trip to the mountains is a good one even though you aren't totally down with it.
    Blogger is a d-canoe…
    Sorry about the heat, it's amazing how each time the seasons change how long it takes to get readjusted.

    Like

  2. Blogger was doing that to me this morning too. WTF?!?

    Fingers crossed that you sell your car and that your trip to the mountains is good. I agree – running with no music is not NEARLY as much fun. And the heat/humidity? Suck ass.

    Like

  3. Blogger is being annoying to me me as well. I agree, running without music sucks, well, at least if you are alone and just doing a normal daily thing. I'm starting to complain about the heat too – was just complaining about the cold…hah!

    Like

  4. I don't mind running without music unless I'm on the treadmill. I do not have the mental stamina to run upon the 'mill tuneless. I'm not big into graduation ceremonies…. I haven't been to any of my own since high school and probably would have skipped that one too if I could have gotten away with it.

    Like

  5. Ug…the heat…no bueno. Not sure if it is better or worse than the cold wet ass I got today because it started snowing while I was at the chiropractor and my bike seat got all wet.
    mmmm..Myrtle Beach…neither too hot nor too cold..bliss

    Like

  6. Must not make a comment about snipping off crotch tags, must not make a comment……… HOLD STRONG..

    I didn't know you were divorced.

    good luck on the vette! I'd LOVE to have it. Seriously.

    Like

  7. I like these random bullet posts you do…and the bit about looking forward to things and not appreciating the moment, buried deep within the list. That is so me. I should really work out appreciating things more. If only if were that easy…

    Like

Leave a comment